Home » Latest News

Annual Run

26 August 2012

2012annualrun_01More than a hundred people gathered along the Mississauga waterfront and ran this weekend during the Foundation’s Annual Run which took place on August 26th. This year, both a 5-kilometre race and a 10-kilometre race were held and 133 individuals took part. Those that participated enjoyed the scenic route through J.C. Saddington Park, past the Port Credit Harbour Marina, and along Lake Ontario.

Although it was an incredibly hot and humid day, participants braved the heat while running, jogging and walking the distance for charity. The Foundation’s fundraising target was to collect $5000 for the 299 children that it currently sponsors; with the efforts of all who attended and contributed, more than $13,000 was raised and will go to help our less fortunate brothers and sisters around the world.

After the run, refreshments were served and an awards ceremony was held for the winners of the races. The fastest male and female in the 10-kilometre race were Harjot Singh Bains and Mona Dhaliwal, respectively. The top three finishers of the 5-kilometre race, in order, were Gursher Dhillon, Raj Grewal, and Deepi Mann. Awards were given out in several age categories as well. Member of Provincial Parliament Harinder Takhar also said a few words and presented the Foundation with a letter of recognition on behalf of the Government of Ontario. Sukhdev Singh Manna from the Spinal Cord Injury Association, Jullundur who is visiting from India also encouraged the participants, in particular the children on the important charity work they are doing and how it helps those in need in India.

Altogether the run was a wonderful success. Thousands of dollars were raised for charity and all who participated – whether in competitive spirit or together as family and friends – much enjoyed the day. The Foundation now looks to our next main event in October: the Scotiabank Toronto Waterfront Marathon with Fauja Singh. The Foundation’s goal here is to get at least 101 participants (to mark Fauja Singh’s 101 years of age) from our community to take part in this event. Those who want to know more may contact us at mail@ggscf.com.




Award Winners:
10K Fastest Participants
Male: Harjot Singh Bains
Female: Mona Dhaliwal
5K Top Three Overall
1st: Gursher Dhillon
2nd: Raj Grewal
3rd: Deepi Mann
5K Fastest Under 10 Years of Age
Male: Rajvir Ashat
Female: Jasleen Khaloya
5K Fastest Under 15 Years of Age
Male: Gursher Dhillon
Female: Asis Dhillon
5K Fastest Under 20 Years of Age
Male: Amritpal Dhillon
Female: Amrit Sahota
5K Fastest Under 25 Years of Age
Male: Manvir Singh
Female: Inderpreet Toor
5K Fastest Under 30 Years of Age
Male: Raj Grewal
Female: Gagandeep Gill
5K Fastest Under 50 Years of Age
Male: Sukhi Natt
Female: Balwinder Kaur
5K Fastest Over 50 Years of Age
Male: Paramjit Dhaliwal
Female: Balbir Flora